TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING



Board of Commissioners Tuesday, October 11, 2022 at 9:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

MINUTES

In compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations / during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

Call to Order

Roll Call

Mr. Drew Keahey, President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

PRESENT

Commissioner Mike Calloway
Commissioner Johnny Turner
Commissioner Dustin Morris
Commissioner Ashley Peters
Commissioner Antwain Downs
President Drew Keahey
Vice President Rodney Hutchins
Commissioner Dick Zeagler

Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell

ABSENT

Commissioner Kenneth Wilson Commissioner Michelle Collum

Others in attendance were: Mr. Mike DeFalco, Broussard and Company; Ms. Susan Douglas, DOTD; Mr. Dylan McIntosh, DOTD; Mr. Matthew French, DOTD; Mr. Max Tullos, Corp of Engineer; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Executive Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Matt Varnell, Administrative Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Operations Superintendent, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Jason McMillin, Police Captain, Tensas Basin Levee Police.

Prayer

Pledge of Allegiance

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Comment on Agenda Items

Action

Mike Defalco, Brossard & Company presented the 2021-2022 Independent Auditor's report for the Tensas Basin Levee District.

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Calloway and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of September 13, 2022 is hereby dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The News Star.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve all bills approved by the claims committee for September 2022.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary

Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District did authorize the Secretary and President to advertise for bids for Lee Lane Levee Relocation in Caldwell Parish, LA.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED sealed bids were received, opened and read aloud by Denmon Engineering, 114 Venable Lane, Monroe, Louisiana at Tensas Basin Levee District office, 505 District Drive, Monroe, Louisiana, at 2:00 P. M., October 10, 2022, as follows:

W.L. Bass Construction bid \$1,988,063.50 Womack & Sons Construction Group, Inc. bid \$1,637,152.20. Merrick Construction bid \$1,916,021.55

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that under the recommendation of Denmon Engineering, the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District hereby accepts the bid of Womack and Sons Construction Inc, Harrisonburg, La. in the amount of \$1,637,152.20

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Morris, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize to proceed with the power source to the Davis Lake Pump Station.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Requests

Presentations

Items for Discussion

Update on Levee Projects

Brandon Waggoner gave levee project updates.

Financial Statements

Public Comments

Drew Keahey advised that the November 1, 2022 meeting will be at 10:30AM.

Adjourn